Curriculum

Acland Burghley School is committed to providing an environment that enables full
curriculum access that values and includes all pupils, staff, parents and visitors
regardless of their education, physical, sensory, social, spiritual, emotional and
cultural needs. We are committed to taking positive action in the spirit of the Equality
Act 2010 with regard to disability and to developing a culture of inclusion, support
and awareness within the school. 

The Accessibility Plan is in line with the school’s Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) Policy and aims to ensure that we are socially and academically inclusive, that all students have access to a full curriculum, and that all students are appropriately challenged. 

Curriculum departments have been grouped into faculties, in order to increase opportunities for collaboration to develop teaching and learning and raise achievement. Each faculty is lead by a Head of Faculty and each subject has its own Subject Leader. Please see below for a full list of all subjects available at Key Stage 4. For a full list of courses available at Key Stage 5, please visit the LaSWAP website.

For any enquiries regarding the curriculum we follow, please contact Aaron Shufflebotham, Deputy Headteacher – Curriculum on ashufflebotham@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk.

 

Faculties

Computing, Media, Social Sciences and PE Faculty subjects

Business 

Computing and ICT 

Media

Psychology

Sociology

PE


SLT Lead for Computing, Media, Social Sciences and PE Faculty
Anna Rimington  |  arimington@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Creative Arts and Technology Faculty subjects

Art and Design and Technology 

Dance

Drama 

Music

Head of Faculty
Gwen Frye  |  gfrye@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

English Faculty

English

Head of Faculty
Esther Churchman  |  echurchman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Humanities Faculty subjects

Geography

History 

RE 

Head of Faculty
Ayca Sonmez  |  asonmez@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Maths Faculty 

Maths

Head of Faculty
Emine Kani  |  ekani@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Modern Foreign Languages Faculty subjects

French and Spanish

Head of Faculty
Katty Jacob  |  kjacob@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Science Faculty

Science

Head of Faculty
Rebecca Green  |  rgreen@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

  

GCSE courses available at KS4

Course

Exam board

English Literature

AQA
English Language AQA
Mathematics Edexcel
Combined Science (Double award) AQA
Separate Science (Triple award) AQA
History Edexcel
Geography AQA
French AQA
Spanish AQA
Latin OCR
Art and Design Edexcel
Design technology AQA
Cambridge National Sports Studies OCR
Dance AQA
Drama OCR
Music OCR
Economics OCR
Sociology AQA
Psychology AQA
Physical Education AQA
Business Studies AQA
Religious Studies AQA
Further Mathematics AQA
Film Studies WJEC

 A variety of community languages are also offered at GCSE.