Curriculum

Acland Burghley School is committed to providing an environment that enables full
curriculum access that values and includes all pupils, staff, parents and visitors
regardless of their education, physical, sensory, social, spiritual, emotional and
cultural needs. We are committed to taking positive action in the spirit of the Equality
Act 2010 with regard to disability and to developing a culture of inclusion, support
and awareness within the school. 

The Accessibility Plan is in line with the school’s Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) Policy and aims to ensure that we are socially and academically inclusive, that all students have access to a full curriculum, and that all students are appropriately challenged. Both documents can be found on our Policies page.

Curriculum departments have been grouped into faculties, in order to increase opportunities for collaboration to develop teaching and learning and raise achievement. Each faculty is lead by a Head of Faculty and each subject has its own Subject Leader. Please see below for a full list of all subjects available at Key Stage 4. For a full list of courses available at Key Stage 5, please visit the LaSWAP website.

For any enquiries regarding the curriculum we follow, please contact Aaron Shufflebotham, Deputy Headteacher – Curriculum on ashufflebotham@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk.

Curriculum overview

For the Curriculum overview, please see here

Faculties

Computing, Media and Social Sciences 

Business 

Computing and ICT 

Media

Psychology

Sociology


Head of Faculty
Oliver Rosen orosen@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk   

Creative Arts and Technology Faculty

Art and Design and Technology 

Dance

Drama 

Music

Head of Faculty
Gwen Frye  |  gfrye@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

English Faculty

English

Head of Faculty
Esther Churchman  |  echurchman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Humanities Faculty 

Geography

History 

RE 

Head of Faculty
Ayca Sonmez  |  asonmez@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Maths Faculty 

Maths

Head of Faculty
Emine Kani  |  ekani@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Modern Foreign Languages Faculty

French and Spanish

Head of Faculty
Katty Jacob  |  kjacob@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Science Faculty

Science

Head of Faculty
Rebecca Green  |  rgreen@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

PE Department

PE

Subject Leader
Tom Bryant  |  tbryant@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk   

  

Courses available at KS4

Course

Exam board

GCSE English Literature

AQA
GCSE English Language AQA
GCSE Mathematics Edexcel
Combined Science (Double award) AQA
Separate Science (Triple award) AQA
GCSE History Edexcel
GCSE Geography AQA
GCSE French AQA
GCSE Spanish AQA
GCSE Latin OCR
GCSE Art and Design Edexcel
GCSE Design technology AQA
Cambridge National Sports Studies OCR
BTEC Dance Pearson
GCSE Drama OCR
GCSE Music Edexcel
GCSE Economics OCR
GCSE Sociology AQA
GCSE Psychology AQA
GCSE Business Studies AQA
GCSE Religious Studies AQA
GCSE Film Studies WJEC

 A variety of community languages are also offered at GCSE.