English

The limits of my language means the limits of my world. 

Ludwig Wittgenstein

Welcome to English! Here you will meet a vast range of exciting and varied texts which we delve into in class. You will have the opportunity to discuss interesting topics, to write challenging essays and to create your own characters and stories. You will also be able to take part in competitions and go on exciting theatre and poetry trips. At ABS we offer a rich and diverse curriculum to inspire you to find your own voice amongst powerful voices from literature. We will support you in achieving a high standard of literacy and engender a deep appreciation of reading both for pleasure and as part of cultural exploration and inclusion. The study of English Literature and Language at Acland Burghley aims to help you shape your identity as an individual and as contributors to society.

Head of English Faculty

KS5: Esther Churchman | echurchman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Subject Leads

KS3: Lewis Goodacre  |  lgoodacre@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

KS4: Tara Vakil | tvakil@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Teachers

Elizabeth Collins |  ecollins@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Jonathan Holt |  jholt@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Asma Khan | akhan@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Rosie Kosky rkoskyhensman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Joanna Mullan |  jmullen@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Anna Rimington | arimington@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Sarah Lester  slester@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Anja Donn | adonn@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Ross Hunter rhunter@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk  

Francesca Brown | fbrown@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Daisy Whitchurch | dwhitchurch@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

English Medium Term Plans 

Show list Show Grid

Curriculum

KS3

Often seen as a transitional phase between KS2 examination and KS4 examination, KS3 is an important opportunity to build students’ love of reading and improve literacy. At ABS we offer a rich and diverse curriculum to inspire students to find their own voice amongst powerful voices from literature. Please see attached our recommended reading lists to support your child with their extended reading. If you have any queries please contact me at lgoodacre@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk.

 

Y7       

Autumn term: In the Sea there are Crocodiles; ‘Frankenstein’ the play

Spring term: Poetry; New-The Tempest                              

Summer term: Short Stories; The Art of Persuasion

Y8       

Autumn term: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time; Macbeth.

Spring term: Culture and Place Poetry; Immersive Read

Summer term: Immersive Read; Dystopian Fiction and Narrative structure.

Y9       

Autumn term: World Literature novel; Hamlet

Spring term: Conflict Poetry; An Inspector Calls

Summer term: Iridescent Adolescent Short Stories; GCSE Language Paper 1

Develops pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills

Develops pupils as individuals

Develops pupils as contributors to society

Develops literacy and vocabulary

Develops a habit of reading widely

 

Suggested reading

The Day and non- fiction new articles. See the school website for reading list and refer to this website: https://schoolreadinglist.co.uk/reading-lists-for-ks3-pupils/suggested-reading-list-for-year-8-pupils-ks3-age-12-13/ 

Extra-curricular activities and club

  • Creative Writing club

KS4

The demands of the new English Curriculum at KS4 mean that students will be prepared throughout the course by completing extended timed writing with a high level of accuracy. The cultural experience of students and their relationship with reading is integral in creating successful outcomes so all our schemes of learning are enriched with independent learning opportunities.

If you have any queries please contact me at tvakil@aclandburghley.Camden.sch.uk

Y10     

Autumn term: Romeo and Juliet; Modern Text      

Spring term: Power Poetry; Language Paper 2

Summer term: Conflict Poetry; Modern Text

Y11     

Autumn term: 19th Century Novel; Romeo and Juliet

Spring term: Unseen Poetry; Modern Text; Language Paper 1

Summer term: Revise all

Skills developed at GCSE:

Wide and varied reading of whole texts for pleasure and knowledge

Refines drafting skills and develops resilience in writing at length for a variety of purposes and audiences

Practise of formal and academic writing as well as writing imaginatively

Conscious control and aware of how writers craft meaning through language

 

Suggested reading

Scroll down for our recommended reads and revision resources!
19th Century novels; modern 20th century short fiction short stories; The Day and non-fiction news articles, modern drama, modern American literature, Shakespeare, contemporary war poetry collections, poetry from the Enlightenment and Romantic eras, reading for pleasure…


Useful websites

School reading list

AQA

BBC Bitesize

Seneca learning

No Fear Shakespeare

The Day

 

Things to see and do

The Globe Theatre, The National Theatre, Southbank Centre poetry collection and events, History Walks in London Charles Dickens Museum, Sherlock Holmes Museum, British Library exhibitions, The Foundling Museum

Extra-curricular activities and clubs:
We run English intervention classes for KS4 and regular opportunities for trip events. Look out for Poetry LIVE! and theatre excursions as well as visiting authors and practitioners. 

Reading lists

Y11 Revision materials

GCSE English Language Timing of questions

English Language paper 1

 English Language paper 2

English Literature paper 1

A Christmas Carol

Frankenstein

Jane Eyre

Jekyll and Hyde

Romeo and Juliet

Great Expectations

English Literature paper 2

Animal Farm

 Conflict Poetry

Unseen Poetry

A Taste of Honey

KS5

Welcome to English A level at ABS!

We offer English Literature and English Literature & Language

  • In English Literature, you will have the opportunity to study canonical texts such as Shakespeare’s brilliant ‘Hamlet’ and Chaucer’s hilarious ‘The Canterbury Tales’. You will look at a wide breadth of American Literature, including classics like ‘The Great Gastby’ and ‘The Grapes of Wrath’. The OCR course allows students to study a range of texts over the two-year course, including poetry post 2000.
  • English Literature and Language allows students to explore the more technical side of English. This is an exciting course from AQA, where you will explore a range of literary and non-literary texts, including ‘The Great Gatsby’ and ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ and well as analysing non-fiction texts all relating to Paris.

See attached our Long-Term Plans for a more detailed look at each course.

As part of the wider LaSWAP consortium, Acland Burghley offers the following A level/ Level 3 courses. Please click through to the links to view more information on the LaSWAP website.