English

The limits of my language means the limits of my world. 

Ludwig Wittgenstein

Welcome to English! Here you will meet a vast range of exciting and varied texts which we delve into in class. You will have the opportunity to discuss interesting topics, to write challenging essays and to create your own characters and stories. You will also be able to take part in competitions and go on exciting theatre and poetry trips.

Head of English Faculty

Esther Churchman | echurchman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Subject Lead and 2nd in charge

Simona Businaro |  sbusinaro@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Lead Practioner

Sarah Lester  |  slester@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

SEND teacher

Anja Donn |  adonn@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Teachers

Jonathan Holt |  jholt@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Asma Khan | akhan@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Joanna Mullan |  jmullen@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Anna Rimington | arimington@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Elizabeth Collins |  ecollins@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Tara Vakil |  tvakil@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Rosie Kosky rkoskyhensman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Lewis Goodacre   lgoodacre@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Richard Henshaw   rhenshaw@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Curriculum

KS3

Y7       

Autumn term: What is poetry?; ‘A Christmas Carol’

Spring term: Crime and Punishment; ‘Frankenstein’ the play                  

Summer term: Persuasive texts; ‘The Garbage King’

Y8       

Autumn term: Macbeth; The Woman in Black.

Spring term: Arctic and the Environment: Non-Fiction; Culture and Place Poetry

Summer term: Immersive Read; Dystopian Fiction and Narrative structure.

Y9       

Autumn term: An Inspector Calls; World Literature novel

Spring term: War Poetry; Hamlet

Summer term: Greek Mythology; GCSE Modern Text

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Suggested reading

The Day and non-fiction news articles. See the school reading list and refer to this website: schoolreadinglist.co.uk.

 

Things to see and do

  • Charles Dickens Museum
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum
  • British Library exhibitions
  • The Foundling Museum

Extra-curricular activities and clubs

  • Debate Mate
  • Creative Writing club

KS4

Y10     

Autumn term: Romeo and Juliet; Language Paper 1   

Spring term: Conflict Poetry; Language Paper 2

Summer term: Conflict Poetry; Modern Text

Y11     

Autumn term: 19th Century Novel; Romeo and Juliet

Spring term: Language Paper 1; Unseen Poetry; Modern Text 

Summer term: Revision

Suggested reading

19th Century novels; modern 20th century short fiction short stories; The Day  and non-fiction news articles, modern drama, modern American literature, Shakespeare, contemporary war poetry collections, poetry from the Enlightenment and Romantic eras and reading for pleasure!

 

Things to see and do

Dickens’ museum, The Globe Theatre, The National Theatre, The British Library, Southbank Centre poetry collection and events, History Walks in London.

Extra-curricular activities and clubs

We run English intervention classes for KS4 and regular opportunities for trip events. Look out for Poetry LIVE! and theatre excursions as well as visiting authors and practitioners. Opportunities to be involved in Debate Mate and First Story creative writing will be available again this year.

Y11 revision materials

  GCSE English Language Timing of questions

English Language paper 1

Show list Show Grid

 English Language paper 2

English Literature paper 1

 A Christmas Carol

Frankenstein

Jane Eyre

Jekyll and Hyde

Romeo and Juliet

English Literature paper 2

A Taste of Honey

Conflict Poetry

Unseen Poetry

 

  

KS4 gallery

 

KS5