Maths

The study of mathematics, like the Nile, begins in minuteness but ends in magnificence.

Charles Caleb Colton

At Acland Burghley we believe that every child has the potential to be successful in their use and application of mathematical skills. We aim to nourish and grow enthusiastic mathematicians who feel confident in their reasoning skills and know how to apply their mathematical knowledge in new and challenging situations.

Head of Maths Faculty

Dixie McLean | dmclean@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Subject Leads

KS3: Alfie Sparkes | asparkes@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

KS4: Liam Davis ldavis@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Teachers

Emine Kaniekani@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk  

Valentino Murati | vmurati@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Jeremy Silk | jsilk@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Deborah Gyamfuadgyamfua@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Kadir Karaca | kkaraca@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Jessica Kidd | jkidd@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Pedro Xavier | pxavier@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

William Allen | wallen@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Curriculum

KS3

Y7 

Autumn term: Ordering Numbers, Calculations 1
Spring term: Calculations 2, Geometry
Summer term: Order of Operations, Unit 6: Percentages

Y8       

Autumn term:

  • Equations and inequalities
  • Ratio and proportion

Spring term:

  • Representing and interpreting data
  • Angle geometry and bearings
  • Transformations

Summer term:

  • Circles
  • Surface Area and Volume

Y9       

Autumn term: Indices and Formulae, Angles, Vectors and Transformations
Spring term: Volume and Pythagoras
Summer term: Quadratics and Trigonometry

  

 Extra-curricular activities and clubs

To be confirmed in September 2019

  

KS4

Y10     

Autumn term

Higher: Decimals, Rounding, Perimeter, Area, Percentages, Ratio, Probability, Angles, Further algebra, Powers & roots, Standard form, Surds

Foundation: Fractions, Decimals, Rounding, Perimeter, Area, Percentages, Ratio, Probability, Angles

Spring term

Higher: Equations, Probability of combined events, Formulae, Compound measures, Volume, Pythagoras

Foundation: Further algebra, Powers and roots, Standard form, Equations, Probability of combined events,

Summer term

Higher: Proportion, Growth and decay, Trigonometry

Foundation: Formulae, Compound measures, Volume

Y11     

Autumn term

Higher: Functions and sequences, Straight line graphs, Graphs of other functions, Sampling, representing and analysing data, Vectors, Transformations, Similarity

Foundation: Proportion, Growth and decay, Trigonometry, Functions and sequences, Straight line graphs, Graphs of other functions, Sampling, representing and analysing data, Transformations,

Spring term

Higher: Congruence, construction & loci, Inequalities, Interpretations of graphs, transforming curves

Foundation: Vectors, Similarity and congruence, construction and loci, Inequalities, Interpretations of graphs

Summer term: revision

  

 

Extra-curricular activities and clubs

Y11 Revision: Wednesdays after school

Y11 Morning revision: dates to be confirmed
Y10 catch up: dates to be confirmed

Maths workshop at Langdon Park School

KS5