Year 9 

We hope the students have had a restful and enjoyable summer and have returned to school prepared and focused for the year ahead.

As a Year Team, we are really proud of the growth the students have shown since Y7 and we are excited to continue this development into their last year of KS3.

We want to build upon the cohesive effort students have made in moving towards becoming self-regulating and in ensuring they are always ready to learn and achieve.

At the end of last year, the cohort started to model calm and purposeful behaviours around the school and it is vital that they continue to be leaders in this area.

This year we also aim to build upon the resilience shown by the students and instil a sense of community within the year group by showcasing kindness and respect.  

In Y9, our priority is to foster students’ curiosity for a range of subjects and provide an informed understanding of Acland Burghley School’s KS4 options and pathways process.

We will do this through:

  • Ownership of learning through development of study skills; 
  • Understanding of their own progress and goal setting moving forward; 
  • Informed options choices for Y10;  
  • Embracing extra-curricular and enrichment opportunities;  
  • Mindfulness and well-being 

We are going have a real drive on punctuality throughout this first term. As such, we will be continuing our weekly praise and attendance award assembly but with a focus on also rewarding excellent punctuality.

We continue to uphold our high expectations of the students as individuals and see them reach their full potential. We want students to continue to develop as independent learners who think for themselves and act responsibly. Therefore, we will continue to encourage students to complete homework to the very best of their ability, take pride in their work and arrive at school on time with all of their equipment.

Our goal as a year team continues to be to develop a group of highly achieving, well rounded, resilient learners with the skills needed to create excellence together.

I am fortunate to be working with a group of passionate, mindful and dedicated tutors who will continue to support your child throughout their school journey. They are the first point of contact if you need information or would like to discuss anything.

I am looking forward to another successful year!

Jess Kidd
Year 9 Team Leader
jkidd@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

 

Show list Show Grid

 

Director of Learning KS3

Annie Parkin  aparkin@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Year Team Leader

Jess Kidd |  jkidd@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Student Progress Leader

Eshu Christianson   echristianson@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Tutors

Ross Hunter  | rhunter@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Valentino Murati   vmurati@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Conor O'Malley  |  comalley@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Sean Osinlaru  |  sosinlaru@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Lisa Oteng  |  eoteng@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Jessica Rozman    jrozman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Matthew Vickery   mvickery@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

 Key dates

  • 8 Dec 2022
    Y9 Parents' Evening
    Add Y9 Parents' Evening to your calendar
  • 12 Jan 2023
    Y9 Pathways Launch
    Add Y9 Pathways Launch to your calendar
  • 30 Mar 2023
    Y9 Teenage Booster
    Add Y9 Teenage Booster to your calendar
  • 17 Apr 2023

    to

    21 Apr 2023

    Y9 Exam Week
    Add Y9 Exam Week to your calendar

Adding dates to your calendar

Individual dates
Add dates to your calendarClick the relevant icon to add individual diary dates to your calendar.
In Outlook you will need to click the 'Save' button.

Subscribe to the whole calendar
Please find below instructions on how to configure some of the most popular calendar programmes to automatically display dates from the public address of the school calendar feed, which is:
Feed address: webcal://aclandburghley.greenhousecms.co.uk/ical.ics