Welcome to the governors’ section of the Acland Burghley website. Together our role is to help shape the overall direction and character of the school, monitor progress and standards, review and approve the budget, appoint and support the headteacher and senior staff, review policies and procedures and ensure the school fulfils its statutory duties.

There are several different types of governor on the Governing Body of Acland Burghley so it may be helpful to know what the different types mean and how they come to be chosen. At Acland Burghley we have 15 governors: 7 parent governors, 5 co-opted governors, 1 local authority governor, 1 staff governor and the headteacher.

Associate of the Governing Body: An associate of the Governing Body is an individual who has skills and experience which the Governing Body needs in addition to the 15 governors. Associates of the Governing Body are appointed by the governors. They attend Governing Body meetings but they are not full members of the Governing Body.

Chair of the Governing Body: The chair is a governor who has been elected by the Governing Body to lead it. S/he is elected every year. The staff governor and headteacher cannot be chair, vice chair, or chair of a committee. Any other type of governor can be elected as a chair. 

Co-opted governor: This is an individual from the community who has skills and experience which the Governing Body needs. They are appointed by the existing Governing Body, following an interview. At Acland Burghley we try to think about what skills and experience we will need in the future and the overall composition and diversity of the Governing Body when we select co-opted governors.

Headteacher: The headteacher is always also a governor.

Local authority governor: Maintained schools are required to have at least one local authority governor. They do not have to work for the local authority, but they are nominated by it (in our case, Camden) and appointed by the Governing Body.

Parent governor: At Acland Burghley we conduct an election to fill a parent governor vacancy or vacancies. All parents or carers of registered pupils at the school at the time of this election are eligible to stand to become parent governors.

Staff governor: An individual who is a member of staff, usually elected by the staff, to ensure that staff views are represented on the Governing Body.

If you are interested in becoming a governor, please email

Our key priorities for this year are

  • raising attainment and achievement for all students;
  • securing the financial future of the school and all its services;
  • extending the range, visibility and quality of arts activities and student participation in them;
  • and developing the school culture and ethos.

We meet regularly and non-staff governors also visit the school, making contact with the different departments and attending events and performances. We welcome contact with all those involved in the school and will be happy to hear your views on any matters of concern.

Minutes of full Governing Body meetings are available on request from

Show list Show Grid

Previous Full Governing Body minutes

    Academic Year 2020/2021

    Academic Year 2019/2020



    Clerk to Governing Body

    Mike Hutchinson

    Local authority nominated governor



    • Julian Turner
      Local authority nominated governor and vice chair of governors


    Co-opted governors



    • Alan Chesters
      Co-opted governor
    • Sheila Chapman
      Co-opted governor
    • Sam Alvis
      Co-opted governor
    • Crispin Woodhead
      Co-opted governor
    • Dr Claire Melamed
      Co-opted governor


    Parent governors


    • Dr Kim Issroff
      Parent governor and chair of governors
    • Rachel Hermer
      Parent governor
    • Paddy Sutton
      Parent governor
    • Roz Webb
      Parent governor
    • Mary Carson
      Parent governor
    • Beckie Herbert
      Parent governor
    • Rachel Wrangham
      Parent governor


    Staff governor





    • Nicholas John


    Associates of the Governing Body



    • Madeleine Holt
      Associate of the Governing Body
    • Josie Smalling
      Associate of the Governing Body
    • Jenna Julius
      Associate of the Governing Body
    • Steve Carr
      Associate of the Governing Body