Close

Acland Burghley School

Acland Burghley School

Section Menu

Year 8

Welcome back Y8s!

We hope you have had a restful and enjoyable summer and have returned to school prepared and focussed for the year ahead.

Last year we had excellent attendance as a year group but we know that sometimes there is a dip when Y7s move to Y8s. We want to ensure this doesn’t happen so we will have a real drive on attendance throughout this first term. As well as all the usual procedures, we will be introducing a tutor group attendance challenge and the tutor group with the highest attendance each half term will receive a reward.

There are some changes to the year team – some of you will have new tutors who you will get to know well over the coming weeks. Also your new Student Progress Leader is Miss Faux who has come from working with the Year 10s. She too will be an important support for you this year in terms of progress, attendance and behaviour.

There is a broad range of extra-curricular activities on offer this year and we hope to see many of you taking up these opportunities in sport, art and drama. The new timetable has been published and posters are on display throughout the school.

Remember that our year team motto is:

WORK HARD AND BE NICE TO PEOPLE

You are not the youngest in the school anymore and are important role models for the new year 7. We hope to see you setting a good example and being helpful to all the new students.
We want students to continue to develop into independent learners who think for themselves and act responsibly. We will encourage students to complete homework to the very best of their ability and take pride in their work. The iL@b is open until 5.30pm every day and is a valuable study space so do make use of it whenever possible.

Let’s have another successful year!

Mr McHugh
Year Team Leader

Year Team Leader
Sean McHugh
Email

smchugh@aclandburghley.Camden.sch.uk

Student Progress Leader
Charli Faux
 Email:

cfaux@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk  

Tutors
Tom Andrews
Email

tandrews@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Stella James
Email

sjames@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Steve Foster
Email

sfoster@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Jay Rowe
Email

jrowe@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Anmiks Salter
Email

asalter@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Ayca Sonmnez
Email

asonmez@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Rob Stainsby
Email

rstainsby@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk