Acland Burghley School

Acland Burghley School

Section Menu


Welcome to the governors’ section of the Acland Burghley website. The school governing board includes parents and co-opted governors, a local authority governor, a staff governor and an associate or associates. Together our role is to help shape the overall direction and character of the school, monitor progress and standards, review and approve the budget, appoint and support the headteacher and senior staff, review policies and procedures and ensure the school fulfils its statutory duties.

Our key priorities for this year are: raising attainment and achievement for all students; securing the financial future of the school and all its services; extending the range, visibility and quality of arts activities and student participation in them; and developing the school culture and ethos.
We meet regularly and non-staff governors also visit the school, making contact with the different departments and attending events and performances. We welcome contact with all those involved in the school and will be happy to hear your views on any matters of concern.
Minutes of Full Governing Board meetings from the last year are available to download from this page. Archived minutes are available on request from

Contact our governors at
Clerk to Governing Board
Mike Hutchinson
Local Authority Nominated Governor [1]
Sarah Hayward
Co-opted Governors [5]
Julian Turner [Chair of Governors]
Dr John Clark [Vice Chair of Governors]
Sheila Chapman
Alan Chesters
Jonny Shipp
Parent Governors [7 Elected]
Sebastian Camisuli
Steve Carr
Madeleine Holt
Dr Kim Issroff
Claire Melamed
Paddy Sutton


Staff Governor [1]
Christina Louka
Nicholas John
Associates of the Governing Board
Josie Smalling 
 Melissa Danbury