English

The limits of my language means the limits of my world. 

Ludwig Wittgenstein

Welcome to English! Here you will meet a vast range of exciting and varied texts which we delve into in class. You will have the opportunity to discuss interesting topics, to write challenging essays and to create your own characters and stories. You will also be able to take part in competitions and go on exciting theatre and poetry trips.

Head of Department

Esther Churchman | echurchman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Teachers

Sarah Lester (Lead Practioner)  |  slester@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Simona Businaro (2nd in charge) |  sbusinaro@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Anmika Salter | asalter@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Jonathan Holt |  jholt@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Asma Khan | akhan@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Joanna Mullen |  jmullen@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Anna Rimington | arimington@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Jason Uzzell | juzzell@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk 

Elizabeth Collins |  ecollins@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Tara Vakil | tvajil@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Rosie Kosky rkoskyhensman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Curriculum

KS3

  • Develops pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills
  • Develops pupils as individuals
  • Develops pupils as contributors to society
  • Develops literacy and vocabulary
  • Develops a habit of reading widely

Often seen as a transitional phase between KS2 examination and KS4 examination, KS3 is an important opportunity to build students’ love of reading and improve literacy. At Acland Burghley we offer a rich and diverse curriculum to inspire students to find their own voice amongst powerful voices from literature. Please see our recommended reading list to support your child with their extended reading. If you have any queries please contact Ms Salter at asalter@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

KS4

  • Wide and varied reading of whole texts for pleasure and knowledge
  • Refines drafting skills and develops resilience in writing at length for a variety of purposes and audiences
  • Practise of formal and academic writing as well as writing imaginatively
  • Conscious control and aware of how writers craft meaning through language

The demands of the new English Curriculum at KS4 mean that students will be prepared throughout KS3 for completing extended timed writing with a high level of accuracy. The cultural capital of students and their relationship with reading is integral in creating successful outcomes so all our schemes of learning are enriched with independent learning opportunities with revision strategies.

Please see our recommended reading list to support your child with their extended reading. If you have any queries please contact Ms Churchman at echurchman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk
Revision guide materials will be added during the exam period.

 

KS5

In English Literature, you will have the opportunity to study Shakespeare’s brilliant ‘Hamlet’ as well as exploring Chaucer’s hilarious ‘The Canterbury Tales’. You will look at a wide breadth of American Literature, including ‘The Great Gastby’ and ‘The Grapes of Wrath’. The OCR course allows students to study a range of exciting and varied texts over the two year course.

English Literature and Language allows students to explore the more technical side of English. This is an exciting course where you will explore a range of literary texts, including ‘The Great Gatsby’ and ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ and well as analysing non-fiction texts all relating to Paris. 

Here’s a reading list of great reads to get you in the mood for English A level:
Books to read before you die

For any questions, please contact KS5 Co-coordinator, Ms Businaro at sbusinaro@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Or click on the links above to view more infomation on the LaSWAP website.

 

Literacy and Reading

In English we are very passionate about reading and literacy and are making it our mission statement in 2018-19 to create a reading culture across the school!
Please look out for the following opportunities next year:

  • KS3 Spelling Bee
  • Y7 Speakers Challenge
  • Subject Ambassadors in English will be used to help run a reading group – Year 10/7
  • Debate Mate – opportunity to compete nationally using excellent oracy skills!
  • Burghley Big Read – ensure your child joins in with the whole school book – to be announced!
  • World Book Day – there is a yearly opportunity for fancy dress and a book swap!
  • First Story – run by our library team, students workshop creatively to write their own short stories.
  • Poem of the week – our Lead Practitioner team publishes a new poem each week – remember to ask your child what they’ve seen!

For further support in helping your child develop their literacy, follow the links below or contact Ms Churchman at echurchman@aclandburghley.camden.sch.uk

Show list Show Grid